Winter Pasta Salad

I love pasta salad, but unfortunately cherry tomatoes and lettuce aren’t in season this time of the year. So I’ve been thinking about an alternative version of my favorite recipe, and I think I’ve come up with something good!

1 box rotini (I like tricolor because it’s prettier)

5 slices bacon, cut into 1-inch pieces

2-3 sun dried tomatoes in olive oil, diced

2-3 small shallots, diced

1 bunch of kale, cut into 1 inch pieces

balsamic vinegarette dressing

1.) Cook rotini. 

2.) Fry the bacon. Add shallots and saute until translucent. Wash the kale, then put it into the bacon (still wet), put a lid on the pan and cook  until wilted (4-5 minutes).

3.) Toss the rotini with the kale, bacon and shallots. Mix in the sun dried tomatoes.

4.) Either toss the whole affair with the dressing, or let diners add their own at table.

I like to serve this with a crusty rosemary olive bread and a heavy red wine (anything from Australia will be strong and quite spicy– they’re excellent winter wines).

