My Dream Tumbleweed

Like Laura Ingalls Wilder, I have always lived in and loved little houses. A few years ago, I posted about building my ideal farm house. While I still love that house, another has caught my eye in recent years – the Tumbleweed Enesti. As you can see from this photo (from the Tumbleweed Flickr page) – it’s got a classic farm house look and feel -

It’s a bit smaller in size than the previous farm house I wrote about, but the three bedroom model is still 843 square feet. Buildling it over a full basement would also provide additional space for a workshop and storage. I’d also be inclined to use the third bedroom (an addition off the kitchen on the ground floor) as a dining room instead of bedroom. This house can be built for about $56,000, so that leaves a generous budget for a nice bit of land to build it on. And I think we could build it for less if we use salvaged/second hand materials where we could and did as much of the work as possible ourselves.

A big plus to me is this house accomodates standard-sized kitchen cabinets, fixtures and appliance, so there’s no additional cost for custom work necessary. Ikea actually has some great cabinets -

These are Lidingo cabinets with Grej (I believe) handles on the lower cabinets. On top, I prefer open shelving to upper cabinets because I have dishes that I’d like to display, so I’d probably choose something like these Stenstorp shelves and plate shelves instead -

Ikea also sells a farm house style sink that I’d have to have -

A nice warm oak counter top would complete the kitchen look -

Really, I could keep planning and furnishing this little house for days on end, but as far as dreams go, roughing in the kitchen is a good start.

One thought on “My Dream Tumbleweed

  1. Pingback: An Incredible House Makeover… « The Apartment Farm

Comments are closed.