Last Minute DIY 4th of July Decor

You didn’t think I’d forget about the 4th of July, did you? I had some lofty ambitions to make red, white and blue fabric pennant bunting and sew up a table runner but last week my in-laws graciously offered to refinish my sewing table, so it’s currently out in suburbia getting a makeover, leaving my sewing area in temporary disarray.

Money, as it turns out, apparently does not grow on trees and we’re on a pretty strict pre-baby budget these days so I’ve also been brainstorming cute, easy crafts that I could do for basically free. Papercrafting fits the bill perfectly. I’ve got at least a whole box of craft papers and cardstocks just sitting around, and access to a color printer (can’t reveal my source on this one!) for occassional on-the-sly print jobs. There are a ton of great free printables all over the internet so it’s just a matter of spending a little time searching around for one that suits your style.

I wanted a few sheets of small format American flags and red, white, and blue banner/bunting stripes to work into a few projects, and came across perfectly scaled free flag printables on the Flags of the World page at Dollhouse Miniatures Printables. I printed the complete USA set which includes two strips of banner/bunting and one each of the Bennington, Betsey Ross and current American flags per page (I printed out ten). There are a ton of things you can do with these – the flags print so they can be folded double-sided, and they’re actually about the size of the miniature toothpick cocktail flags you can buy at the store, so you could certainly craft your own flag picks for drinks or cupcakes or what have you. But since we’re not really having a barbecue or party this weekend, I decided to use them in other ways.

I’m always looking for ways to embellish my milk glass during the holidays. The bunting stripes were perfect for dressing up the hobnail tumblers that I currently use as tealight candle holders. The stripes aren’t long enough to fit around the entire circumference of the tumblers, but I wasn’t worried about that since the backsides are to the books on the shelves. If you were using them on a table where the backsides would show, you could simply affix two stripes end to end and cut to size. I just used a little double-sided tape to attach the paper to the glass.

Here are a couple more milk glass tumbler candle holders on our bar cabinet. I also added a mini flag bunting. I just affixed the mini flags to a short length of red fuzzy package twine, using double sided tape.

To spruce up our vase of cork, I used some of the bunting stripes to make mini flags. I just attached them to short lengths of bamboo skewer with that ubiquitous double sided tape. And to add another little splash of color, tied a red fabric ribbon around the neck of the vase.

And my final use of the bunting stripes was to make larger flags to dress up our basil plant. I just affixed the stripes to larger strips of white typing paper with a glue stick and cut them to the size I wanted. Then I attached them to longer bamboo skewers with double sided tape.

And while I was looking through my craft supplies today, I found a few short lengths of pretty red gingham ribbon, which I thought would look quite nice on the jelly jars I use as tealight candle holders on the back of the stove. I just attached them with a little tape at the back.

So, the house is modestly decked out for the 4th of July, and I didn’t spend a dime to do it. Next year I’d certainly like the time and maybe a small budget to do a little more, but I’m pleased with the effect I achieved on short notice with no decorating funds.

So, if you think your house looks a little bare and want to throw a few things together for this weekend, get out your craft supplies and print some free graphics on the internet. Here are a few more free printables/DIY papercrafts I came across that you might like to use -

Vintage-Inspired 4th of July Crafts at Country Living

Patriotic Paper Lollipops at Make & Take

Patriotic Doily Banner at the Scrap Shoppe (If you don’t have a fancy Silhouette machine, you can make this the “old-fashioned” way with scissors and hole punches, like you would do for paper snowflakes)

Red, White & Blue Paper Fans at A Field Journal

Happy 4th of July everyone!

One thought on “Last Minute DIY 4th of July Decor

  1. Pingback: A Little of This, A Little of That « The Apartment Farm

Comments are closed.