A Nothing-New Idea: Canning Jars in the Pantry

It’s probably true that there’s really nothing new under the sun. And that’s okay; we’re not trying to reinvent the wheel with household management here. But there is new to you and new to me, and that’s what we have today.

I’ve used mason jars for pantry organization on a small scale, using quart jars to hold bulk yeast and farina. I retrofitted them with salt lids so I could pour easily from them. Works great, and I’m really pleased with them.

But a major storage issue in my pantry has long been the plastic bags of dry goods, like brown sugar, powdered sugar, beans, rice, lentils, etc. They don’t stack well. One you open them they spill everywhere. They look ugly piled up into a mountain of foodstuff that threatens to topple over onto you every time you open the door.

Quart jars are just too small to hold the quantity of dry goods I like to have on hand, so I decided to go a step up and get a couple of cases of the half gallon jars. Menards just happened to be having a 20% off bag sale a few weeks ago, and one case of these huge jarsĀ justĀ fit in the bag. I was able to also cram some canning lids and fertilizer spikes down the sides, but I digress. Best $20 I ever spent for organization! With a dozen jars, I’m now able to store rice, kidney beans, pintos, rice crispies (which I grind up for bread crumbs), white beans, brown sugar and powdered sugar with no fuss. My pantry is nicely organized (okay, it still needs a little more help but the jars are a step in the right direction) and they look good. I’m a girl who loves the look of canning jars.

So don’t spend big bucks on special jars and canisters if you need better dry good storage – a case of good old half gallon mason jars should do the trick.

