Crockpot Pumpkin Butter, Revised

Last fall when I was writing at Agrarian Revival, I tried making pumpkin butter in the crockpot and was pretty pleased with the results. The original recipe I used was on the Baked Bree site. It’s a good recipe, but in the last year I’ve tweaked it a bit to suite my personal taste and budget.

The original recipe calls for a whopping 1 1/4 cups of maple syrup, which is a little too maple-y for my taste. And real maple syrup is expensive! The recipe also only uses cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg, so I decided to round out the flavor a little bit more by adding allspice and cloves. I also doubled most of the amounts of spices called for. I also omitted the salt. And I added just a touch of honey, since I reduced the maple syrup. All in all, it’s a rich pumpkin-y pumpkin butter, great for using in baked goods.

1 large can pumpkin puree

1/2 cup apple juice

1/4 cup maple syrup

1/4 cup honey

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon ginger

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon cloves

1/4 teaspoon allspice

2 tablespoons lemon juice

Dump it all in the crockpot, and mix it well. Cook it on low for 3-4 hours (another difference from Baked Bree’s recipe – it doesn’t need 5-6 hours, at least in my crockpot). Give it a good stir every half hour or so. Once it’s done, let it come down to room temperature. You can freeze it in which ever portion sizes you like. Please note that you cannot water bath (or even pressure can) pumpkin butter at home – if you want to preserve it, the freezer is the way to go.

One thought on “Crockpot Pumpkin Butter, Revised

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Butter Breakfast Muffins |

Comments are closed.