Project Planning: Key Hook

January is a time for planning and one thing I’ve got in my head is to pull together all of the little things that will give us the most bang for our buck. And after living in this apartment for almost a year (where does the time go?) we know which things will really help us organizationally. The top two items on my list for the first part of this year are dresser side tables and a key hook.

I’ve been looking at wall hooks for awhile, but I just didn’t want to spend the money on them. I really like this style at Target, but it’s nearly $20.00!

A

I guess that’s not a bad price, but it’s more than what I want to pay. Fortunately, I figured out how to make it for about $8.00, and that’s a price that’s right up my alley!

Hobby Lobby sells craft wood that measures 12 x 3 1/4 inches, which is just about the right size for this project, for less than $2.50.

B

And Lowe’s sells a two-pack of hooks for $2.60, and I’d need to pick up two package for a total of four hooks -

C

So all I need to do it paint the wood (with spray paint I have on hand), mount the hooks and there you go – a simple, classic key rack for about half the price it would take me to buy in the store!

