Oh, How I Mourn…

It was a quick death. Three days ago my husband noticed little webs on one of our luscious pepper plants. Almost instantly, the leaves started falling in profusion. It was spider mites. So I isolated the plant from the others, and raised the humidity level around the plant by placing a bowl of water right next to it. Apparently spider mites detest humidity and moisture. But by the third afternoon, there was no improvement, just more webs and the loss of more leaves. My husband insisted we get rid of the plant to prevent the mites from spreading to the others. Despite the fact that he was right, the loss stung. This particular plant was my best producer, and the peppers were all just starting to turn red and be ready to harvest. The whole thing was unceremoniously pitched into the dumpster. But on the plus side, our remaining pepper plant appears to be unaffected, and the peppers are maturing to a nice red also. The tomatoes have been indifferent to the entire event. So all in all, we still come out mostly ahead. Another highlight that is distracting me from the loss of my beloved pepper is the fact that my lettuce has started to sprout. So the garden continues on…

