Snow Day

At least once or twice a winter, everyone needs a snow day. Remember when we were kids and the snow would pile up so high that getting to the bus stop was impossible? Snow day! I remember running outside in my snow suit and building snow forts and snowmen and then tramping inside where Mom would have tomato soup and grilled cheese and then later in the afternoon, cookies and hot chocolate. There is something rejuvenating about having a whole day to do what you please. As an adult, my vision of the snow day is a little different. I like to put on something that’s comfortable, yet makes me feel good– my favorite snow day outfit is black yoga pants with lace trim, a long-sleeved t-shirt and warm fuzzy knee socks. I start the day with a cup of hot tea and something light to eat, like toast or coffee cake. Then I curl up with a book on the couch with an afghan and read for awhile. After that, I do a little interneting (and maybe a little blogging 🙂 ), or knitting or whatever my interest dictates. And that’s the great thing about it– no work on your snow day! I also like to do a little pampering on my snow day– a peppermint foot soak, mud mask, and an all-over moisturize to help heal my dry winter skin. The peppermint foot soak is easy to put together– to one cup of epsom salts, stir in about 15 drops of peppermint essential oil, and add dried peppermint leaves if you like. Dissolve the epsom salts in about a gallon of warm water– rubbermaid dish pans are the perfect size for this– and soak your feet for about 20 minutes. For a foot massage, put small river stones or marbles in the bottom of your soak, and rub your feet over them. I like to follow the foot bath with a cuticle cream and moisturizer (my picks are Burt’s Bees Lemon Cuticle Cream and Burt’s Bees Milk & Honey Body Lotion). Now if only we could have snow days more often!

