Garden Update: April 2007

The 2007 seed is taking off quite well. The 2006 seed germinated only sporadically– I have a couple green onion sprouts, a single carrot and three tomatoes that have come up. Needless to say, I learned some valuable lessons about seed storage (stay tuned for an upcoming tutorial on seed storage- I might as well share what I’ve learned!). But, as I said, the 2007 seed is doing quite well. I have what appear to be hardy little plants. Some of them are even putting out their true leaves. I’m the most impressed with the edamame though. The plants are about four inches tall now with true leaves. Despite their height, they’re strong and growing well. I think they’re going to get really big, so I’m considering carefully what I’m going to transplant them into. I was going to use my Earthbox for tomatoes, but seeing as I just have a pathetic little grouping, I think I’m going to give the spot of honor to the edamame. Plus I really love edamame, so they’re shaping up to be this season’s babies. They deserve the best. 🙂 The creeping thyme is started to recover from it’s horrible transplant experience. It’s now properly settled into the soil and I’m remembering to water it regularly, so it seems to be happy. Some of the lower branches did die off, but the remaining ones on the top of the plant and green and nearly lush once more. So I think it will make it. I also have hopes for the rosemary, despite the fact that I was convinced that I had killed yet another one earlier this week… All of the leaves and blooms turned brown like death. And I’m doing everything right with it– it’s in proper lighting and I let the soil dry out slightly in between waterings. But it was still looking dead, until this morning when I noticed that it’s now putting out new, green growth. So I think that the rosemary will also rebound. I don’t know why, but I seem to really struggle with herbs, and they’re supposed to be one of the easiest things to grow indoors. This year I am determined the keep them alive. The wintergreen is doing okay, but I honestly forget to water it quite often, sending it to the brink of it’s demise. But I always seem to notice it just in the nick of time, and it rewards me with a little bit of new growth and green. I hope it doesn’t feel unloved… So everything is off to a pretty good start at Apartment Farm, and soon enough it will be transplanting time…

