Thinking Blogger Award

It was a pleasant surprise today to discover that Vera Nadine at http://jarofspiders.com/veranadine tagged me with the Thinking Blogger Award. It’s nice to know that in some small way, the concept behind Apartment Farm is appreciated and worthwhile.

 What does this award mean? It allows me the opportunity to show you who inspires me and what I value by passing on this award to five other bloggers that make me think and are making intellectual (and otherwise) contributions that should be recognized. I  hope that the five bloggers I recognize will, in turn, pass this award on to others who inspire them.

The rules of this award are as followed: (And if you’ve been tagged, copy and paste these into your post)

1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think

2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme

3. Optional: Proudly display the ‘Thinking Blogger Award’ with a link to the post that you wrote.

My Five Thinking Bloggers Are (in no particular order):

1.) Foodshed at http://foodshed.blogspot.com/ The tagline on Pattie’s blog is “How Eating Close to Home Can Change the World” and I think that sums up best what this blog is all about. Articles about gardening, cooking, sustainability and the like are informative, relevant, timely and smartly written. Reading this blog reminds you that its a pleasure and not a chore to think about where your food comes from.

2.) Eat Local Challenge at www.eatlocalchallenge.com is a blog written by multiple authors, and is a mecca of inforamation for those trying to live the sustainable life and eat within our foodsheds. This blog covers news stories that are important to individuals and communities everywhere, while also providing specialized information and news by regional localities. This is necessary resource for everyone in the local food movement.

3.) Farmgirl Fare at http://www.foodiefarmgirl.blogspot.com/ There is a lot of incredible reading at this site on two of my favorite topics– farming and cooking. The recipes are amazing, and there is a regular parade of amazing photos of life on the farm. Definitely worth checking on a regular basis!

4.) Tiny Farm at http://tinyfarmblog.com/ Mike is definitely a thinking blogger. He’s farming sustainably on a small scale, and his blog reminds me of what is possible if you have hard work and a vision. I’m continually impressed that he still has time to get on the computer and write about it all. He also adds amazing photos of what’s happening at the farm, from shots of the greenhouse to seeding the fields. It’s a great visual archive of what farming is all about.

5.) Toast at http://www.lindystoast.com/ This was the very first food blog I became acquainted with, and it really impacted the way I view food. Its more than just sustenance, its a craft perpetuated by skilled artisans and love. There’s something for everyone here, and I always feel like Linda is speaking to me personally as I read.

So, these are the blogs that keep me inspired and are part of the Great Conversation in many ways. I hope you find them as exciting as I do.

