Baking Day

It’s cool out today, so that has me inspired to fire up the oven and bake like crazy before the hot weather returns. I need breakfast foods! So I’m going to make a batch of Hawaiian bread, applesauce spice cake muffins with granola topping, cornmeal muffins with bacon and sun-dried tomatoes and if I have any more flour left after all that, some chocolate chip cookie muffins. I’m also going to make a giant batch of gnocchi for the freezer (I love gnocchi!). I’m getting even more mileage out of the gnocchi by using the leftover potato water to try my hand at getting a sourdough starter going. I’ve never done it before, so I’m going to give it a shot. I really like the concept behind sourdoughs– it’s getting something for practically nothing. And wouldn’t it be cool if I could pass down a bit of 20-year-old sourdough starter on to my own kids someday? I know a woman who is fortunate enough to have a starter from her Great Grandmother! And it’s a sourdough starter that was formed on the Montana plains all those years ago… Now that’s the way to bake!

