Life’s Simple Pleasures

I spent several hours in the kitchen this afternoon baking and cooking up a storm, and my body is tired. But it’s the tired of having lived through an active day, instead of parked in front of the television. We woke up at nine this morning (late, even for us) and went to the farmer’s market. We got kale, grape tomatoes, beefsteak tomatoes, a green pepper, blue potatoes, red onions, leeks, red lettuce, sour cherries and a bouquet of miniature sunflowers. Then we stopped at Whole Foods for meats and pantry items (they were having a few good sales this weekend, too). Then we came home and I realized we’d forgotten a few things, so I made three– yes, three! trips to the market around the corner. And then came the baking. I really enjoyed myself– I was wearing my favorite cherry bib apron and I felt like a fine farmgirl whipping up good things to eat at my kitchen table, enjoying my sunflowers and singing along to one of my favorite albums. I ended up doing most of what I set out to do– the bacon and sundried tomato cornbread muffins, the applesauce spice cake muffins with granola topping, two loaves of Hawaiian bread and a large batch of gnocchi. But I forgot to get the sourdough working– I drained all the potato water right down the sink! But we’ll have potatoes again sometime this week, so I’ll get the sourdough working then. Plus, I’ll have a chance to read up on sourdough a little more in my bread book. We had some of the gnocchi with andouille sausage for dinner tonight, and my hat’s off to all the Italian grandma’s out there who make it all the time– it really is tricky to get the dough the right consistency, and then forming it off the fork. I’ll need some practice with that. But they sure did taste good. Tomorrow will bring a new weekend morning (how glorious are those) with baking a cherry pie for the husband and doing a little crafting. For now, it’s off for a nice soak in the tub and some reading before bed. Sometimes it’s the little things that are the most rewarding…

3 thoughts on “Life’s Simple Pleasures

  1. look at you and all your baking. all I did was marinate some meat to make bulgoki…

    some girl introduced herself to that asshole guy that i almost got into a fight with as colin’s girlfriend. it’s a funny story really. Last night I was sitting next to colin at the bar (the girl wasn’t there) and that asshole guy comes up to colin and goes where’s your girlfriend. And colin is all i don’t have a girlfriend, and the guy goes, she used the word boyfriend in reference to you, and colin goes she’s not my girlfriend… nonetheless i didn’t like it. so i scooted away…

  2. That sounds like a very productive day! You sure did a lot of baking and I’m sure your place smelled heavenly…and homey. Then to end the day with a well deserved soak in the bath….priceless! It’s a good tired.

Comments are closed.