Cold Weather Cooking at Apartment Farm

Today was one of those days where comfort foods are the only ones that will do. For dinner this evening, I made up a pot of leek and potato soup- one of our cold weather favorites. I used a mix of red potatoes and Kennebecs. I usually like to use two distinct varieties if I have them on hand- I think the waxy texture of the reds contrasts nicely with the meaty texture of the Kennebecs, and both go nicely with the silky leeks. Perfect fall food. We ate some of the last of the Swedish rye bread from Schuberts with it, then I made the remaining few slices of bread cubes to mix with white bread for our Thanksgiving stuffing. I got about 2 cups of cubes out of the few slices that we had left- better to use it up that way than let the bread start to mold! But if I had known I was going to become so addicted to Schuberts’ bread, I would have purchased several loaves for the freezer. But I’m surely going to remember that the next time I’m there!

I’ve also got a Norwegian Almond Cake in the oven- this is the test run baking for Thanksgiving. It’s a simple flourless cake- 4 eggs, 1/4 cup of sugar, 1 teaspoon of baking powder, and 2 cups of finely diced almonds. It’s simple to put together- beat the sugar and eggs until light, slightly thickened and foamy and then fold in the baking powder and almonds. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. But I can see how the trick would be to get the eggs and sugar beaten correctly- I can’t wait to see how mine turns out. And I don’t have a springform pan, so I anticipate unmolding it being next to impossible. But if the cake itself comes out well, I can always buy a springform for nicer presentation before Thanksgiving.

Tomorrow will bring more baking- an apple pie with the Empires purchased today, a double batch of coffee cake, and I might even try my hand at crepes. I ate them quite a bit when I was a child (both my mother and grandmother make excellent crepes) and I’ve been craving them lately- rolled up with cinnamon sugar is my favorite, but I might be ambitious enough to try a mille crepe cake. Yum!

One thought on “Cold Weather Cooking at Apartment Farm

Comments are closed.