Spring Planting at Apartment Farm

It’s late January, and the garden catalogs are beginning to pile up. They have become dog-eared and highlighted. And through all the thousands of options available, I’ve finally decided what I’ll grow this year at Apartment Farm. I’m thinking simply this year.  

          Lollo Rossa Lettuce

          Tennis Ball Lettuce

          Tom Thumb Peas

          Martino’s Roma Tomato

          Silvery Fir Tree Tomato

          Rose Finn Apple Fingerling Potatoes

          Strawberries

          Herbs: Thyme, Rosemary, Flat-Leaf Parsley 

The lettuces will be grown in wooden wine crates. The peas are a dwarf variety well suited to containers, so I’ll have a few pots of those. I’ve haven’t decided which pots yet, but there are quite a few options—enamelware soup pots will likely be what I choose, if I can find a few affordably second hand. I’ll probably do two or three plants of the roma tomatoes in enamelware also. The Silvery Fir Tree tomato is suited to hanging baskets, so I’ll have four of those. I’d like to find some whimsical cast-iron branch pot hangers for those. The potatoes are this year’s experiment. I’m going to try them in white metal trashcan right here in the living room. We’ll find out together whether it’s possible to grow potatoes indoors. The strawberries will go in a strawberry pot of course, and I’ll have another strawberry pot devoted to herbs.  

I’ll likely place my order this week and dust off the seed trays for seed starting in mid-February—have got to give those tomatoes the head start they’ll need! And early lettuce certainly won’t be a bad thing either. Stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “Spring Planting at Apartment Farm

  1. Love your ideas for containers! Martino’s Roma Tomato is one of my favorite tomatoes.

    I grow potatoes in containers all the time. I don’t like to dig so I flop the container over just pour them out at the end of the season. I hadn’t thought of growing them indoors though. Denise

Comments are closed.