February Greetings

Has it really been two weeks since I last posted here? How neglectful of me! So much has been going on lately. We just got back from a nice long weekend in Door County, WI. We stayed at the Scandinavian Lodge in Sister Bay, which for the most part, was a really good experience. We stayed in a studio suite, which had an electric fireplace, in-room jacuzzi, and kitchenette which contained a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. We decided to get the “Romantic Getaway” package, which included a slightly discounted rate and a welcome basket containing a Door County fruit wine, candles, dark chocolate covered cherries (which we could eat!), bath salts, and a $30 gift card to Al Johnson’s (which was nicely kitchsy, but only mediocre – see my husband’s detailed Yelp review here). Also notice the review he wrote for the Inn at Kristofer’s which was, quite simply, the best meal we’ve ever eaten at a restaurant. It rivals the best restaurants here in Chicago, and if you ever have occassion to be in Door County, it’s a must-stop. It’s definitely a splurge, but if you’ve got it in your budget don’t miss it. The rest of the weekend we spent enjoying some nice country drives (the scenery there is phenomenal), some light shopping (many places are closed during the winter months – do your homework before going in the off-season), and relaxing at the lodge – in additional to the in-room jacuzzi, they also have a pool, whirlpool, sauna, game room, and fitness center. And cable tv! I admit, I indulged in HGTV and the Food Channel a bit too much!

 In other news, I still need to get my seed order in (it’s getting late, how does time always get away from me!?) and I’m excited about trying my first recipe out of the The French Laundry Cookbook soon – we’ve chosen “Fish & Chips” as our inaugeral recipe – it’s red mullet with garlic chips. Step one will be finding out if I can even get red mullet – I don’t recall seeing at the grocer, but I don’t spend a lot of time in the fishmarket section of the store, so we’ll see. And who knew it’s a leap year this year? 29 days this month, isn’t that crazy? I feel like I should do something special to celebrate this extra day in the year, though I don’t know what. A special dinner perhaps? Crafting has been a little slow lately, but I just purchased some new red wool yarn to make a scarf for myself after husband loved the one I made for him. And the wedding/honeymoon album project is coming along – I’ve got one page done! And I picked up some new scrapbook papers this weekend to keep the project moving along. That’s all in recent news, stay tuned for more goodness!

