Mmm Food…

It’s chilly again. Actually, it’s downright cold. There’s a rumor circulating that it’s going to snow tonight after raining all day. I can’t deal with more winter. But, as always, the cold does especially put me in the mind to cook. This afternoon for a late lunch, I made a pot of leek and potato soup drizzled with balsamic vinegar. For a late dinner tonight we are having a salad composed of refrigerator leftovers – mixed baby greens, button mushrooms, carrots, sweet peppers, ham cubes, artichoke hearts and capers accompanied by some croissant rolls. I crave the greens after a winter without them! Tomorrow will be a big cooking day though – I’m going to bake like crazy so we have good breakfast food for the work week. Apple cider doughnuts (using my new-old doughnut cutter that I haven’t tried out yet), snickerdoodles, chocolate chip cookies and some type of muffin – probably pumpkin spice mini muffins. I love the bite-sized! For dinner tomorrow I plan on making my standard fare pasta bolognese, which I eat with alarming regularity. It’s just so good. And if I get more ambitious than all that, I’ll have more dirty dishes than I know what to do with!

