Thanksgiving 2008

Thanksgiving is the most serious meal I plan and serve each year. Last year was the first time we hosted it for my husband’s parents and grandfather. They will be joining us again this year, and we’ve extended the invitation to a few of his aunts and uncles, but we’re still waiting on rsvp’s from them. Likely it will be just the five of us again, which is fine because we’re a lively fun crowd, and it certainly is a crowd in our small apartment. I really wanted to do something different this year – I had my heart set on pheasant until I priced it. One bird costs about $30 right now, and I’d need four to serve five people with second helpings. $120 on one element of a meal is a little more (okay, a lot more) than I wanted to spend. So the stand-in for the menu so far is good old turkey, but I’m still keeping my ears and eyes tuned to other options. Other than wanting to swap out the turkey, the rest of my meal plan is traditional as always. Some things never change, and in the right circumstance, that’s a wonderful thing.

Appetizers

Pork rillettes (a potted pork spread for bread)

Toasted French bread

Cornichons (tiny dilled pickles)

Assorted olives

Pickled asparagus

To Drink: Prosecco or Chateau Ste. Michelle Brut sparkling white wine (if I can get it – I’ve only had it once at a restaurant)

Main Course

Herbed butter roasted turkey

Wilted kale with shallots and bacon

Brussels sprouts with Dijon vinaigrette

Mashed potatoes

Chestnut stuffing

Cranberry sauce

Roasted sweet potatoes

To Drink: Chateau Ste. Michelle Indian Wells Cabernet Sauvignon, chardonnay (I haven’t decided which winery yet – I think the Chateau Ste. Michelle is too strong for this meal) and which ever wines our guests bring (bringing wine is the standard practice for any gathering in our family).

Desserts

Pumpkin pie

Baked apples

Chocolate tarts

To Drink: espresso, brandy or spiced rum.

