Container Gardening Vegetable Varieties

Small space gardening is a trend that has really taken off – from square-foot styled planting beds in small yards to window boxes, people are showing an increasing interest in growing their own food. But seed catalogs can be daunting – how do you know which plants are going to be suited for a container on your balcony? Being a small space gardener myself, I’ve been keeping track of which heirloom/old varieties are container-friendly, so I thought I’d share my list with all of you. It’s certainly not a comprehensive list, but it’s a good place to start.

– Pencil Pod Yellow Bush Beans

– Bountiful Green Bush Beans

– Arikara Yellow Bush Beans

– Black Valentine Green Bush Beans

– Tennessee Green Pod Green Bush Beans

– Tendergreen Improved Green Bush Beans

– Jacob’s Cattle Baking Beans

– Calypso Baking Beans

– Bumble Bee Baking Beans

– Vermont Cranberry Baking Beans

– Dragon’s Tongue Wax Beans

– Empress Green Beans

– Fin de Bagnol Green Beans

– Hutterite Soup Beans

– Ireland Creek Annie Baking Beans

– Envy Edamame

– Early Snowball Cauliflower

– Dwarf Blue Curled Scotch Kale

– Lacinato Kale

– Oakleaf Loose-leaf Lettuce

– Red Deer’s Tongue Loose-leaf Lettuce

– Amish Green Deer’s Tongue Loose-leaf Lettuce

– Tom Thumb Lettuce

– Lollo Rosso Lettuce

– Tennis Ball Lettuce

– Cherry Belle Radish

– French Breakfast Radish

– Easter Egg Radish

– Martino’s Roma Tomato

– Tiny Tim Tomato

– Principe Borghese Tomato

– Cream Sausage Tomato

– Czech’s Bush Tomato

– Green Grape Cherry Tomato

– Nebraska Wedding Tomato

– Silvery Fir Tree Tomato

– Tonda di Parigi Carrot

– Rossa di Chioggia Radicchio

– Red Marble Cippolini Onions

– Bianca Di Maggio Cippolini Onions

– Evergreen Bunching Onions

– Crimson Forest Bunching Onions

– Russian Banana Fingerling Potatoes

– Rose Finn Apple Fingerling Potatoes

– Thomas Laxton Peas

– Lincoln Peas

– Tom Thumb Peas

– Blue Jade Sweet Corn

– Tom Thumb Popcorn

– Miniature White Cucumber

– Black Hungarian Hot Pepper

– Candlelight Sweet Pepper

– Chinese Ornamental Hot Pepper

– Fatalii Hot Pepper

– Fish Hot Pepper

– Garden Sunshine Sweet Pepper

– Golden Nugget Hot Pepper

– Jimmy Nardello’s Sweet Pepper

– Miniature Red Bell Sweet Pepper

3 thoughts on “Container Gardening Vegetable Varieties

  1. I get to go from containers to raised beds this year, but this is definitely a great list because I know that I will hit that “Oh, I need such and such still!” 🙂

  2. Your enthusiasm is very contagious and I’m really itching to try something myself in my small front yard or on my deck. My big problem is that I live in the DC/Maryland suburbs where deer are notorious!! I have heard from everyone who’ve tried to grow anything from flowers to veggies to berries, that the deer come along and nibble away all their efforts.

    Do you have anything to counteract or prevent the dreaded deer attack? Or squirrel, which I’m sure wouldn’t leave anything undamaged on my deck? Elaborate fencing in the front yard space is not allowed in my home-owner’s association regulations.

    Thanks,
    Sumiyeh

  3. I don’t have any experience with deer since I’m in Chicago, and I’ve never really had any problems with squirrels. You should check out the You Grow Girl forums – if I recall correctly, they have a thread on dealing with deer; that might be helpful.

Comments are closed.