Short & Sweet

Things have been crazy lately. With the big move happening this Saturday, most of our stuff is in boxes. I had to unpack a potato masher last night just to make dinner. It’s hard to know what needs to stay out of the boxes until the very last minute. Apparently for me, it’s a potato masher. All chaos aside, we’re really excited about the new place. I already have the back deck completely designed in my head – hanging baskets, a wooden bistro table, a string of white lanterns… now we just have to get it all over there.

Plant-wise, things are pretty slow at the moment. The corn just up and died one day so that’s gone. I might try it again next summer since it can live outside then. The bay tree is looking marvelous as always and the rosemary is half dead – literally – one side is brown and dead and the other side is lush and green and healthy looking. No idea what’s going on there – if anyone has any ideas, let me know. And the two peppers are still blissfully flowering away – and producing no fruit whatsoever. Hopefully they’ll do a little more once I get them out on the back deck.

My sewing machine is in a box and so are all my craft supplies, so nothing to report there. Though I’ve got some crayon rolls and ugly dolls on the sewing to-do list.

That’s it for the moment, but I’ve been trying to write a few more articles in between all the packing and I’m hoping to get those up before we’re consumed with moving this weekend. Wish us luck!

2 thoughts on “Short & Sweet

  1. Great to hear you are moving to a bedecked apartment! I’m imagining next season’s gardening adventures will be even more ambitious.

    I was sorry to hear the corn never made it indoors. Maybe you could use a row or two outside on the deck as a screen and pretend you live by a field.

    Were you hand pollinating the peppers?

  2. Yeah, I’m sad about the demise of the corn, but I will be trying it again next year. Hopefully I can get a larger container and plant a bigger stand then the dozen or so plants I ended up with this time. I have been hand pollinating the peppers, but I’m using a very rustic shake-the-plant method – maybe I need to get a little more involved and get at them with a paintbrush…

Comments are closed.