To Be Continued

Making cake templates is harder than I thought it would be. I’ve got clear plastic sheets (I repurposed report covers), line drawings of the leaves I want (maple and oak), an x-acto knife and cutting board. X-acto knives are easy to use for straight lines, but I can’t make the delicate curved lines I’m looking for on my leaves. I’ll have to do some practice cutting before I get down to my cake templates, so it’s a good thing I’ve got plenty of report covers to work with.

Aside from doing things with a leaf motif, fall puts me in the mood for working with yarn. I’ve got some thick red yarn in my stash so I’m going to crochet some potholders for the kitchen. The only question is which color of yarn to use for the border? I typically use white, but I’m thinking a dark blue would be nice as well. Or maybe yellow, but I don’t have that color at the moment. Actually I might not even have blue; I’ll have to dig through the bin and see what I’ve got – maybe the border will end up being white after all!

The garden is also in a state of stasis. The rosemary has fully recovered from the move, but I think I need a slightly larger pot for it next spring. The bay tree is looking lush and beautiful, and will also need a larger container one of these days. I think it’s time to get it into a five gallon pot so it can really take off and be the tree it wants to be. One of the pepper plants wilted and died so I’m down to one. It’s got half a dozen tiny green peppers on it and I’m hopefully they’re start to turn red and ripen before we get a real frost. We’ve already had to bring the plants in at night a few times, so we know we’re at the end of the warm weather

Next weekend we’ll be heading over to Gethsemane Garden Center with the family, where I plan to buy three window boxes for the deck railing to get a head start on next year’s gardening. Over the winter, I’ll just do something simple in them, like pine boughs and red berries or pinecones. In the spring I’ll put some lettuce, scallions and maybe some flowers in them. And I plan to do four tomato plants in the hanging baskets (that we’ll need to install in the spring; we already have the brackets) as well as a barrel to grow potatoes and some leeks or kale in the earth box. And I’m still dreaming of getting columnar apple trees out on the back patio…

2 thoughts on “To Be Continued

  1. Hey there, its me again!
    Fall is my favorite season! I could never get enough of the beautiful foliage colors, so I’ve limited myself to just enjoying them when I’m outdoors, or when gazing outdoors from a window.
    For cutting curves on plastic, have you tried a small diameter rotary cutter? You can pick them up in any fabric/craft store.

    Please, please tell me the secret of keeping rosemary from dying!!! Each year, I buy some but it never makes it from one season to the next, let alone getting rejuvenated the next year!! I love the little rosemary topiaries that are typically on the market around the Christmans season, but alas mine always dry up and die after a couple of weeks, no matter when in my home I experiment with placing them!

  2. I love fall too Sumiyeh! Good suggestion on the rotary cutter – I didn’t even think of that. I’ll have to look for one this weekend.

    I’ve had mild success with rosemary, but I’ve lost a few plants over the years too. They’re very finicky. They’re a Mediterraen plant, so they like well drained soil – mine has sand and perlite mixed into the container soil. They also don’t need to be watered frequently – I think most people tend to over water them. Even at the height of the summer, I’m only watering it once every ten days to two weeks. And it loves the sunlight! Also, pick an older plant that has a thick stem and branches. In my opinion they’re much easier to keep alive than the younger ones you find flooding the market during the holidays. Hope this helps!

Comments are closed.