Recent Book Reads

It’s been quite since time since I’ve updated on the books that I’ve been reading, and I’m sure that I’m going to miss quite a few. I’ve been checking things out from the library more often than often than not these days because I’m trying to stick to a budget. But sometimes I find a book that I just have to have –

The River Cottage Break Handbook ­by Daniel Stevens

Mastering the Craft of Making Sausage by Warren Anderson

Cured by Lindy Wildsmith

Notice a theme there? It’s always that food books that ruin my best intentions to not make a purchase. More reasonably, these are a few of the selections I’ve gotten from the library –

Garlic & Sapphires: The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise by Ruth Reichl

Fruits of Victory: The Woman’s Land Army of America in the Great War by Elaine F. Weiss

Heat: An Amateur’s Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany by Bill Buford

The Devil in the Kitchen by Marco Pierre White

The Wild Butcher: From Field to Table by Creative Publishing International

Pickled, Potted and Canned: How the Art & Science of Food Preserving Changed the World by Sue Shephard

Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

The Ungarnished Truth: A Cooking Contest Memoir by Ellie Mathews

Confections of a Closet Master Baker by Gesine Bullock-Prado

The Foie Gras Wars: How a 5,000-Year-Old Delicacy Inspired the World’s Fiercest Food Fight by Mark Caro

Medium Raw: A Bloody Valentine to the World of Food & the People Who Cook by Anthony Bourdain

Under the Table: Saucy Tales from Culinary School by Katherine Darling

The Tenth Muse: My Life in Food by Judith Jones

The Elements of Cooking by Michael Ruhlman

Sewing Green: Projects & Ideas for Stitching with Organic, Repurposed & Recycled Fabrics by Betz White

