Happy New Years!

What a year it’s been; it flew by so quickly I almost don’t know where it went. I’m pretty excited because on this last day of 2010, four month’s into living at our new apartment, we finally have internet at home! Small successes are sometimes the most important ones.

Christmas was wonderful. We got to see most our of family, and my sister even brought my nieces out here so we could celebrate in the city. For our Christmas dinner at home I made Norwegian meatballs with dill gravy, mashed potatoes and peas – a small low-key dinner this year. Husband got me the bread knife I’ve been coveting for about forever and a wrought iron spice rack, among other things.

Our New Year’s Eve celebration tonight will be low-key as well since we’re both still suffering from the most awful colds ever – sore throat and everything. The morning was spent in ultimate boring fashion taking down all of the Christmas decor (minus the tree) and reorganizing the kitchen and crafts area. It’s nice to start the new year tidy and organized. Tonight I’m going to make pan-fried lamb blade chops and poor man’s risotto, with tunnel of fudge cake for dessert. And we’ve got a nice bottle of champagne to enjoy, even though we’re still both sick. And of course tomorrow, we’re both all geared up to watch the Winter Classic hockey game. A cozy weekend in is a great way to celebrate in my opinion.

Thanks everyone for continuing to stop by my little slice of the world. I hope everyone has a safe and happy New Years!

