Helpful Sewing Tutorials

I’ve only recently starting sewing in earnest in the last year or so, and there is still so much to learn. Since I don’t have a grandma at my elbow teaching me all the ins and outs, I’m mostly relying on teaching myself from books, consulting with friends and internet projects and tutorials. Good tutorials are invaluable – the step-by-step photos are just as good as having an experienced sewer sitting right next to you. So I thought I would share the wealth – here are some of the great tutorials I’ve found really helpful in learning to sew.

Smashed Peas & Carrots has some great tutorials, including How to Sew Bias Tape and how to sew mitered corners with bias tape

Sew Mama Sew has a lot of great tutorials as well, including how to use a pattern.

Noodlehead has a super-easy zippered pouch tutorial – a great beginner project.

Grosgrain has a 5-minute pillow tutorial – another great beginner project.

