Will I Ever Have Tomatoes?

Nearly all of the onions have sprouted. No strawberries yet, but those are supposed to take forver. But the tomatoes, I should’ve seen by now. It’s been two weeks since planting and I don’t have a single sprout. Still too chilly perhaps? I didn’t use a heat mat and I still don’t have a grow light, so I had to move the greenhouse into the window so the onions could get light. But that window is chilly…

What to do, what to do? Should I take out the cell pack, plop it in a plastic baggie and set it up in the furnace closet? Or are these seeds hopeless? Should I just start anew? So much for getting a jumpstart on the tomatoes this year. I might stick them in the furnace closet where it’s overly warm as a last ditch effort. I’d hate to think those little seeds are dead…

I’ve got to get the rest of the seeds started soon as well – the snow is gone and the weather seems to be moderating so in about a month I’ve got to have the seedlings hardened and ready for transplanting. And if all else fails, I’ll have to buy some tomato seedlings this year to make up for the failed seeds… but hopefully it won’t come to that.

