The Easter Menu

Easter is just around the corner, and this year it just happens to fall on my husband’s birthday! So we’re hosting a small family dinner for that Sunday afternoon. Being exhausted in general these days, I have relinquished the appetizers to my mother-in-law and aunt-in-law, so I don’t know what they’ll bring just yet but I’m sure it will be delicious.

And due to the aforementioned general exhaustion, I will only be doing one meat entree this year instead of the usual two I do for holidays. I debated for a few days between lamb and ham, and finally decided on ham. I’ve been on a bit of a pork kick these days, and it just sounds really good. I plan on getting an eight pound fresh ham from my favorite butcher in town, Paulina Meat Market. We’ll be serving seven for dinner, so that will be a generous amount of ham and we’ll likely have leftovers, which I always look forward to from holiday dinners. I’m thinking that a simple honey glaze with some studded cloves is what I’ll do for it – fresh and light is perfect for a springtime meal.

And I’m only going to do three side dishes for this one – French potato salad, roasted Brussels sprouts with a mustard sauce and either an onion or a leek and pancetta tart. And I’ll probably bake up a couple of packages of croissant rolls too.

For dessert, the husband has demanded I make my carrot cake with cream cheese frosting. I’m going to bake that the day before so it has time to chill properly in the fridge. And finally I’ll be able to put my new icing knife to good use when I make it!

I’ll probably do up half a dozen colored hard boiled eggs just for fun too, to have as an appetizer/centerpiece. And I’ve got to get on making my Easter decorations so the house is in top form. All in all it’ll be a good time and I’m looking forward to hosting a big holiday meal this spring.

3 thoughts on “The Easter Menu

  1. Hi,
    I just built a garden box on wheels to introduce my son to gardening. It’s on wheels because it’s in the parking lot/common area behind our condo and people need to be able to move it out of the way for parties and stuff. It’s about 5-ft x 3.5-ft. We’re excited about it but we have a problem. I can’t afford to buy the amount of potting soil I would need to fill it and I’m afraid to dig up soil from some forest preserve or park for fear that the soil would be contaminated (not to mention doing that is unethical and maybe illegal).
    Any suggestions?

    • Hi Craig – potting soil is really the best for containers as soil you’d dig up from the ground doesn’t have good drainage when used in a pot. It’s also incredibly heavy. I’ve seen 40 pound bags of pottig soil for under $2.00 at Home Depot, so if you shop around you should be able to find a good deal. But you can reduce the amount of soil you’ll need by using a filler/drainage layer at the bottom – I’ve used recycled packing peanuts and wine corks in my pots, but you can also use gravel, pot shards and the like. Good luck!

Comments are closed.