Firing Up the Grill

This weekend, we have done nothing – absolutely nothing. Life has been exhausting lately – work stress, allergies (including the fact that I found out I’m allergic to chamomile tea!), annoying neighbors… it was a week just past that I’m glad is fully in the past. So I decided that I earned some do-nothing time. I’ve spent the whole weekend lounging on the couch in some comfy clothes catching up on forums and blogs I like to read, or reading in bed with a good book or soaking in a warm bath. I slept in until almost nine o’clock both days. No writing (until now). No cooking projects. No crafts. No gardening. And I don’t feel a bit guilty about it.

One thing I did rally for was good dinner. The weather still isn’t as warm and sunny as we’d like, but we have to take what we can get. It was warm enough to grill out, with a jacket. Last night my husband grilled some delicious rib eye steaks. We marinated them in red wine and worcestershire sauce, which I also reduced into a sauce with the addition of some sauted shallots. Served with green beans and croissants, it was simple and low key.

Tonight, we’re grilling again. We’re going to do bourbon glazed pork chops. The glaze is made from bourbon, brown sugar, soy sauce and garlic. We might do them over a little apple smoke. And I’ll probably serve something ultra simple on the side, like couscous or buttered egg noodles.

I’ll probably bake up a coffee cake so we can have something tasty for breakfast, but other than that, all of my other food projects (bread baking and working with a whole duck) will have to wait. After enjoying some time by the grill, back to the couch I’ll come. Every once in a while, it’s just the weekend I need.

