Deck Veggies – Part One

This weekend, we got all of the veggies into soil. Not all in the permanent homes since we ran out of potting soil (we still need enough to fill four seven-gallon pots), but we’ve got them all in some kind of dirt at least.

That’s our brand new rosemary and the window box. Oregano is in the center, flanked by thyme, cucumbers and chard. I know typically that cucumbers and chard need a lot more space to grow, but I’m going to give it a try here – after working at the rooftop garden last summer I’m amazed by what can grow in very little soil. So we’ll see what happens. The biggest challenge will be keeping it watered and fertilized.

An alternate shot of the deck railing, with the hanging baskets visible. Sweet peppers in one, hot peppers in the other. They’re super crowded with four plants each – when we get more soil, only one will be in each pot, with the remaining three getting transferred to larger quarters.

The spot below our deck railing on the patio houses the tomatoes on the left and cabbages on the right. I’ve got four plants per container right now due to the soil shortage, but I’ve got another four of these pots, so they’ll end up being two to a container. All six pots will be lined up here, in the sunniest spot. Still slightly tighter space than is ideal, but I’ve successfully grown produce in much smaller pots totally indoors in an east-facing window for many years, so to me this is like the Garden of Eden. I think I can make it work.

This is our one planter of non-edibles – a false spiria in between two creeping junipers. It provides a nice flash of color in front of our bedroom window. And you can see the spare pots just waiting eagerly for soil just off to the side.

Stay tuned for Deck Veggies – Part Two when we get our next batch of potting soil and get everything into its proper space.  We still need to hang our white summer lanterns (in between the hanging planters) and maybe get a few pots of flowers for our etagere (which lives to the left of the white planter above and is currently mostly empty) and then the deck will be “complete” for this season.

One thought on “Deck Veggies – Part One

  1. I love your container gardening. I wish I had gotten moved soon enough to try my own, maybe I have time to at least do a tomato plant if I get a starter plant, definitely too late to start from seeds. Can’t wait to see part 2, hate that you got rained out on your days off!

Comments are closed.