Deck Veggies – Part Two

I think I finally have things mostly situated. It’s not my Platonic ideal set up, but if I had that, I’d probably be bored out of my mind. Striving for perfection is a good thing, but overall I really like how things have turned out. It’s a nice space to hang out in.

The tomatoes and cabbages are a little more comfortable now. Instead of a highly overcrowded four to a pot, they are now only two to a pot. Yes, I realize that this is still not book-perfect garden row spacing, but I think it’ll work. They’re both smaller container-friendly varieties. I’ve still got another two of these large pots, so I could’ve space them out even further, but let me tell you how difficult it can be to schlep large quantities of soil around the city without a car. Despite my husband’s willingness to walk a mile to pick up a couple of bags again if that’s what it came down to, it just wasn’t feasible. We couldn’t get enough soil that way if we wanted to. Having soil delivered was either exorbitantly expensive or required purchasing massive quantities (twenty bag minimum!?). So we ended up buying three bags of potting soil from the dollar store (of all places) two blocks from our apartment. Ironic note about that? It’s actually better quality stuff than we got at the garden center. Go figure.

We’ve got peppers all over the place now. In the worst case of overcrowding I’ve ever committed, I had four to these smaller pots originally. Now it’s two by two. You can also see the new spiffy black metal plant stands I picked up at the dollar store for $3.00 each as well. The rosemary and the bay tree – which I’m going to have to get into a larger pot before the end of the summer because it grows like a weed – form a nice little barrier between our space and our -let’s just call them “interesting” – neighbor’s deck space next door. I would also like to point out the the scuzzy bath towel “air-drying” on the security spikes is not ours…

At any rate, we still need to hang out summer lanterns and I want to get just a little more potting soil so I can use one of the extra pots to grow some fingerling potatoes. Maybe I can convince husband to walk with me to the dollar store tomorrow and get another bag or two if the weather holds. So, the deck is done, but not done. 🙂

