In the Works

Believe it or not, I’ve got projects going on! Our rental apple tree from Earth First Farms came in this past weekend, so I’ve got two bushels of Rome apples to attend to ASAP. If you’ve never seen two bushels of apples, think of two large moving boxes. Full. Of. Apples. Since we got everything off one tree we got a mixed bag, so lots of different apples for different uses. About a third of ours are pristine enough for long term storage for fresh eating. Being in an apartment without a root cellar for storage, I had to do something drastic and clear out our entire vegetable crisper bin in the refrigerator. They just fit! But now we have fresh apples for eating whenever we want, and these are tasty. As I always say, I’ll take food in the pantry over money in the bank any day.

As for the other two thirds… Saturday is the big preservation day here. I plan to do 14 quarts of apples canned in water so we have some plain fruit on hand that can be later used for savory dishes (apples ‘n’ onions, apples with roast pork, etc.) or turned into apple sauce, or even made into pie filling. If our filling supply runs out, because that’s what I’m doing with the rest of them – cooking them down into my apple pie filling for the freezer. Apple pies whenever we want them! Sounds like heaven to me.  It’s likely going to be a little more work than I had hoped – I waited to long to try to buy the apple peeler I wanted and it was on backorder for awhile. Now that it’s back in stock, I don’t have the time to wait for it to be shipped or the inclination or funds to pay for express shipping… so I’ll have to attack them with the hand peeler. But they don’t need to look pretty, so I think a quick hack job will be fine to get the work done. I did buy a new apple corer/slicer with ergonomic handles for five dollars, so that will make the bulk of that part go a lot quicker. It’s always the prep work that’s so time consuming. But now that I’m back on both feet and not pregnant, I think I can get through the entire endeavor without too much trouble. And it will be worth it!

In other news, we were able to clean up the garden the other week, as we intended. We took out the pepper plants and moved the thyme and oregano in those pots to move indoors once it starts to get really cold. I need to start keeping an eye on the forecast since we’re liable to get a frost any day now, and I don’t want the plants damaged. We left the chard in since it’s still growing a little bit and we want to wait until the last minute to take the last harvest from it. And we also left the tomatoes in since they had about half a dozen green ones hanging on, but I think this weekend I’ll just pick whatever (if anything) the squirrels have deigned to leave us and just do up some fried green tomatoes for lunch one day. With some black eyes peas and cornbread, it’ll be a tasty simple meal. And we left the cabbages in because husband thought they’re looking cool as they start to flower. May as well have a little plant decoration for a little while. And we buttoned down the hatches putting away all of the summer stuff, like the candles and pillows as well. It’s looking tidy and ready for winter. We do need to pull down the lanterns and get them under cover too. A mini project for husband this weekend? And the mum that we were given in the new blue pot is in full flower and looking spectacular. I just love mums in the fall. And I actually did remember to take pictures of the deck in it’s cleaned up state, but they got downloaded to husband’s computer so I’ll have to post them up a bit later when I can get them transferred to my laptop. Proof that things are happening over here!

