Crockpot Roasted Garlic

Yes, I am in love with my crockpot. It can do so many things. I’ve made pot roasts, stews, baked potatoes, roasted chicken, bread – and now – roasted garlic. I love roasted garlic. It’s great slathered onto chicken or thick slices of warm bread with plenty of butter. It’s one of my favorite things to eat. But unless I’m baking something else for around two hours at high heat, I just can’t justify running the oven for it. Enter the crockpot.

It’s so easy, you’ll kick yourself for not doing it sooner. You’ll need how ever many full heads of garlic you’d like roast. To get about a half cup of roasted garlic pulp, five large heads should be enough. Slice the top off of each head and wrap them individually in aluminum foil. Put them all in the crockpot and cook them on low for one to two hours, depending upon how caramelized you like them. You can just peel back the foil and check. It’s that simple. We just happened to buy a nice loaf of bread at the farmers market today, so I think some garlic bread will be gracing the dinner table tonight at our house.

One thought on “Crockpot Roasted Garlic

  1. great tip! i don’t use my crockpot as much as i should. but i did bust it out to make applesauce today, so i have no excuses not to try the garlic. 🙂

Comments are closed.