Cake Batter Fondue – A Valentine’s Day Treat

I have done a very, very bad thing. I’ve discovered that with very few alterations, my favorite recipe for cake batter can be eaten in the raw. It doesn’t use eggs to begin with, so that got the wheels turning. So if I leave out the leavening and reduce the quantity by half, what do I get? The perfect over-the-top dessert indulgence for Valentine’s Day. So without further ado, I give you Cinnamon Cake Batter Fondue –

1 cup flour

1/2 cup sugar

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/2 – 2/3 cup soy milk

Just mix the dry ingredients, then add in the wet. The quantity of soy milk you use depends on how thick you want your dip. And that’s it! You can dip all kinds of things into it – cake, cookies, graham crackers, chocolate, marshmallows – whatever sounds good to you.

Our Valentine’s dinner should be fantastic this year – I’m going to make steak, mashed potatoes and some kind of veg – maybe steamed broccoli or roasted cauliflower. And for dessert – cake batter fondue with pound cake bites and brownie bites. Can you get any more indulgent than that? I think not.

