Pumpkin Butter Breakfast Muffins

You’ve probably noticed that I have a thing for pumpkin. It’s one of my favorite flavors, and pumpkin muffins are a breakfast staple year-round. But fall is when they really come into their own.

I’ve been toying with my recipe for a few years now, and back in 2010 I finally hit on the answer to getting really pumped-up pumpkin flavor in baked goods – concentrating the pumpkin puree by cooking it down by half on the stove top. It’s a bit of work, but it was worth the effort, as my Super-Pumpkin Pumpkin Bread proved.

But as a busy working mom to a very active two year old boy, I don’t have a lot of time to babysit a pot of pumpkin puree these days. So after I perfected my version of Crockpot Pumpkin Butter, a light bulb went off in my head. Why don’t I combine the two!? And that is how Pumpkin Butter Breakfast Muffins came into the world.

1 1/2 cups of Crockpot Pumpkin Butter (or about a third of the total recipe)

1/2 cup butter

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

2 eggs

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 cup water

1. Cream the butter, sugar and vanilla until well combined.

2. Mix in the eggs and pumpkin butter until well combined.

3. Add all of the dry ingredients, as well as the water, and mix until all of the dry ingredients are incorporated and it’s fairly smooth.

This recipe will make either six jumbo muffins, twelve regular-sized muffins, or twenty four mini muffins. For breakfast muffins, I prefer the jumbo. They need to bake at 350 degrees for 25-35 minutes. The time will be a little less if you decide to do the regular-sized or mini muffins, so just watch carefully.

This recipe doubles easily, and if you make up a batch or two of pumpkin butter in advance, you can freeze it, allowing you to whip up muffins whenever you please.

And as always, a warm muffin with a little butter and a nice cup of tea is a breakfast treat fit for royalty. Enjoy!

