Weeknight Chicken Marsala

Ah Sunday… the end of the weekend and the beginning of the work week. I like to do something special, but it’s needs to be quick. There’s just so much that needs to be done on Sunday night to ensure our week gets off to a good start.

And I’ve been in a bit of food rut lately – I’m tired of the same old things, but have also not felt any inspiration to motivation to try something new. So I forced myself to sit down and browse my Pinterest food boards, and come up with a plan to break the cycle of blah food feeling (and eating!).

One of the first things to catch my eye was a recipe for chicken marsala. I’ve made it once or twice before, and thought it was quite good. And tonight I had a package of mushrooms I needed to use up, so that was perfect. And while it’s not a difficult or time-consuming dish to make, I still thought – how could I make this quicker? And how can I stretch this a bit so I get some leftovers for lunch? Would ground chicken work instead of the chicken breasts? Kind of in an upscale “Hamburger Helper” kind of a way?

I’d glad to report that it did work. Very quick, very tasty, and enough leftovers for lunch. And a nice bonus is that ground chicken costs a little less, so it’s a real budget stretcher. And since it came off so well, I’ll share my recipe with you. I based my recipe on the version I mentioned above, so if you want to make the “real deal” that’s a great one to try. But if you want something quick and a little different, give my version a try.

1 package of mushrooms, diced

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 pound of ground chicken

1/2 cup chicken stock

1/2 cup white wine

1 cup marsala wine

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1/4 cup cold water

salt and pepper to taste

1. Saute the mushrooms in the olive oil until well brown and carmelized.

2. Move the mushrooms to one side of the pan and add the chicken. Cook until the chicken is browned and cooked through.

3. Add the chicken stock and wines and bring to a boil. Cook for a few minutes.

4. Make a slurry by mixing the cornstarch and cold water together. Add the slurry to the sauce and stir until the sauce is thickened. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

I served my chicken over rotini, and I think it was really good that way. But you could also serve it over egg noodles or even rice if that’s more to your taste. It would also be good with oven roasted potatoes (because what isn’t good with oven roasted potatoes?).

 

