Happy Thanksgiving!

Well, I am full. Dinner was a huge success. I lazed out last night and didn’t do any prep or baking, instead opting to do it all today. And you know what? It worked out just fine. It was a leisurely day of cooking and spending time with family, just as it should be. Of course I made a few last-minute alterations to the menu, so this is what we ended up actually eating this year –

Honey and chardonnay glazed roasted turkey

Mashed potatoes

Mashed sweet potatoes with cinnamon and brown sugar

Green beans

Bread stuffing

Home made cranberry sauce

Croissants

Pumpkin pie

Chocolate icebox pie

And it was so good, if I do say so myself. My pie crust turned out perfect, with delicate, flaky layers. And I found a mini turkey cookie cutter in my stash, so it was adorned with cute little pastry turkeys for a festive touch. It was a great day. I am thankful for the bountiful table we were able to provide for our family today. I’m thankful for my family, especially my son and my husband. I’m thankful for decent jobs that allow us to provide decent well for ourselves. I’m thankful that we’re in a position to pay it forward and give back a little to those in need this year. And I’m thankful for all of you, sharing this little corner of the interwebs with me.

I hope you all had a safe, happy, contented, bountiful Thanksgiving with those you love. And officially now, Happy Holidays!

