The Pinterest Bed Sheet Trick

I love Pinterest, and my boards are full of great things to try. One pin that caught my eye recently was how to re-cover a box spring to dress it up. Box springs are ugly , but I don’t like the look or the fuss of a bed skirt. This is the original pin from Pinterest –

1

 

Neat result, but let’s be honest. I’m not hauling a queen sized box spring onto the floor and spending forever cutting fabric and pinning and stapling it around the perimeter. Not my idea of a fun afternoon.

If it’s not yours either, fear not. You can achieve the same look with about a hundred times less effort. Just put a fitted sheet on your box spring. I have a navy blue on white toile duvet, with blue and white striped Jersey sheets. So I put a navy blue fitted sheet on the box spring. I couldn’t be more pleased with the result! It’s amazing what such a simple thing can do – the entire room looks more pulled together and finished now. No more ugly off-white box spring peeking out from under my nice bedding!

