DIY Easter Bunny Wreath

Before this year, I had hardly any Easter decorations. Before having a kid, it just wasn’t a big ticket holiday at our house. But I like to make holidays festive and fun for Little Man, so adding to our Easter decor (affordably!) was a must this year. As usual, I started my quest for Easter projects on Pinterest, and found this awesome little number

il_570xN.524041994_t11b

Really cool, but a little bit out of my price range. More importantly, I wanted to be able to make something with Little Man. So when I found cute little brown bunny ears at the Target One Spot, a light bulb went off. I could make my own interpretation of the bunny wreath!

Supplies were pretty straightforward. Little Man and I picked up the following haul at Hobby Lobby (with the exception of the bunny ears, which we found at the Target One Spot) –

DSCN1539

Since I already had a glue gun and glue sticks on hand, the rest of the supplies only cost $10, and that’s a price I can afford for home decor. Assembled the wreath was super easy.

First, I hot-glue the bunny ears to the back of the smaller wreath. Then I made a ribbon loop for hanging and tucked it in between the bunny ears and wreath, hot gluing it in place.

One the glue was dry, I affixed the larger wreath to the smaller one by using the wire to lash them together. And that’s it!

DSCN1541

Pardon the slightly blurry photo; I was in a bit of a rush to take it. I’m still toying with the idea of embellishing further with a bow, but I think I kind of like it in it’s simple, rustic form. And the best part was the time that Little Man and I spent together to make it – he was an excellent helper!

