A Post-Thanksgiving Note

I hope everyone had a lovely Thanksgiving day yesterday, with plenty of good food and things to be grateful for. We had a bit of a mixed bag – Little Man is still under the weather, and we’re all past the point of exhaustion, between moving house, work stress, etc. But we did have a nice day overall, and we have a lot to be thankful for this year.

This evening, I am embracing the holiday spirit. I have the Christmas channel playing on Pandora. I’m sitting in my own home, which is cozy and warm. There are a few inches of snow on the ground. I’ve got a gingerbread loaf baking in the oven – I’m trying a new recipe from Katie at the Kitchen Door that looks really promising. We’ll have that for breakfast tomorrow before we go over to Oney’s Tree Farm to pick out our Christmas tree. I’ve got most of the Christmas decorations up from the basement – we’re not 100% unpacked, and there’s still the living room wallpaper situation to deal with, but we are decorating! I couldn’t go through a holiday season without celebrating it; it just wouldn’t feel right to me.

But most of all I feel content, which I think can sometimes be a fleeting  state of affairs. So I think my holiday season is not only off to a good start, but the right start – and I hope yours is too.

