Garlic Noodles with Chicken

I love a good noodle dish, and garlic noodles are at the top of the pile. The best part is, these can be whipped up in less than 15 minutes with ingredients from a well stocked pantry. I was inspired by the Garlic Noodles on Budget Bytes, and while I love most of the recipes on that site, Beth’s version wasn’t quite garlic-y enough for me. So I set out to amp up the flavor a bit, and add in my own secret weapon for Asian style sauces – wine. Yes, it’s in no way authentic, but it’s just the ingredient to give brown sauces “that taste” of great takeout. I usually just whip these up when I’m dining solo after the kiddo has gone to bed and husband is working, but I’ve scaled this recipe up to serve two.

– 2 chicken breasts

– half a box of spaghetti, cooked according to package directions in well salted water

– 4 tablespoons oyster sauce

– 4 teaspoons soy sauce

– 2 teaspoons sesame oil

– 1 tablespoon garlic powder

– 8-10 garlic cloves, minced

– 4 tablespoons brown sugar

– 1/2 cup chardonnay

– 1 tablespoon cornstarch mixed into a slurry with 2 tablespoons cold water

– Saute the chicken until well browned on both sides and cooked through. Slice into thin pieces and set aside with the cooked spaghetti.

– Combine the remaining ingredients (except for the cornstarch slurry) and bring to a boil. Mix in the slurry and let boil for a minute or two until thickened.

– Pour the sauce over the spaghetti and chicken and mix well to evenly coat the spaghetti. Serve hot and enjoy!

To increase the nutritional value and flavor, you can add in some lightly steamed or sauteed veggies – green onions, broccoli and sweet peppers would all be delicious.

