The Handmade Outfit

I have been studying up on garment construction and proper tailoring techniques, as it’s a goal of mine to start sewing my own clothes. As much as I have lofty aspirations to wear fancy skirts and dresses every day, the reality is that I’m very much a pants, tank and cardigan kind of woman. And that’s okay – I’m past the age where I’m going to fight my real style and follow the crowd. But that doesn’t mean I have to be frumpy and yuck every day. So, I’ve selected three patterns I’d like to start with.

For pants, I’ve had my eye on the Clover slacks by Colette for years. They can be made in ankle length or capri, but I think my first pair will be capri, since those are great for warmer weather –

Colette Clover

For a top to go with it, a simple camisole fits the bill. This pattern is part of the Great British Sewing Bee series published by The Telegraph newspaper in the UK –

Camisole

And finally – though I’m not sure how well this would pair with the slacks and camisole – a hat. The Rosabelle cloche hat happens to be a free pattern by Wendy Talene on the Sew Mama Sew site, and will be perfect for fall –

Rosabelle hat

I still need to choose fabrics for the pants and hat, but I’ve got a few cottons chosen for the camisole –

fabric

The print on the left is “Snowbird” Laundry Basket Quilts for Moda. I’m not sure what the one on the right is called, but I got them both at my favorite local haberdashery, Material Girl. I have three yards of the Snowbird, which is more than enough for a camisole, but I only have a quarter of a yard of the pink print, since that was all they had left at the time and I couldn’t pass it up. I’m fairly certain I cannot make an appropriate top out a that little fabric, so I’ll probably stretch it by doing a contrasting pink solid band along the bottom.

So.. onward to the breach!

