Hello September

I struggled for a few minutes over how to title this post – “goodbye summer”  or “hello fall” or… ? I like to think of myself as a glass half full person who lives in the moment, so I thought welcoming the next thing sounded better than saying goodbye to a summer that went by too quickly.

Which marks the other conundrum – when is summer over? Is that even a thing anymore, for adults that work twelve straight months of the year? Is it over when the kids go back to school? Labor day? Meteorological autumn? I don’t really know. My kid started school two weeks ago (curse you, early start schools!), Labor Day is “late” this year due to some weird calendar situation and the leaves are orange and falling to the ground. So I think for me, mentally, the season is shifting.

What is the point of this? Well… it’s early in the morning and I’d rather be in bed and I just needed to share that with the world. But while I’m here, I may as well give you an update on Apartment Farm happenings.

Ten months after moving in, we have a dining set! This table was a welcome hand me down (see those beautiful turned legs!) from my aunt-in-law. It had previously been sitting in a corner of their garage, serving as a catch-all table. Functional, but certainly not living up to it’s full potential.

table

When it came to us, it was in a pieces and half covered in it’s former paint job(s) and half sanded. We forgot to take a picture of that hot mess, but this is what it looked like after husband spent a few days sanding it down the rest of the way –

table before

Isn’t the transformation amazing? Didn’t husband do a bang up job? I couldn’t be more pleased with it. Let me tell you – we talked hard about that paint color. Husband wanted white and I wanted black. We’re going to have a bit of bold (for us) color scheme in the dining room when it’s all said and done with the warm honey colored hutch and muted mint green walls, so we needed a third color that accented and didn’t clash. White was the obvious choice for husband, but a lot of our other accents (picture frames, small pieces, etc.) are in black so I lobbied hard for it. Also, I’m just sick of everything being white, after living in apartments for years, and we have already decided that our shiplap walls in the living room will be white washed – so that’s the token white thing we will have in the house. You can see he conceded, to my great delight! I will owe him another victory choice down the line to be fair, but that’s okay. I got my black dining table in the end.

The chairs are from Ikea (what, we get a discount…), the Lindigby Windsor chair. In fairness, we searched all summer for second hand chairs, as we prefer not to buy new when ever we can, but we didn’t find the right ones. They were all too ornate, or had arms that made them too wide to slide under the table. So we purchased the Ikea ones instead, with the added bonus that they were already black and no painting would be required. We obviously need to get another two so we have a full set of four, but only so many big things will fit in a Honda Civic in one go.

In the garden, we’ve got a decent supply of tomatoes, peppers and cucumbers, and a few watermelons that may ripen up in time to eat. There’s not much else doing, but eh, it’s the first year. The farmer’s market keeps us rounded out with the rest of what we want – sweet corn, greens, onions, potatoes, bread (for when I’m to lazy to bake my own, which has been most of this summer), apple cider, raspberries… we’ve had lots of lovely things on the table.

And in other news, I recently made sea salt spray for my hair and I am loving it. I used coconut oil because that’s what I had on hand, and I swapped the lemon essential oil for lavender. Love it! I am not a hair product person, but this is just a really simple two-second fix that allows me to turn bed head (not a cute thing on me, or for that matter, most real humans I think) into something passable for public consumption. Sea salt can be really drying though, so we’ll have to see if I need to start deep conditioning once a week to keep things in balance. And next time I’ll just make a half batch in one go, because this took up two mini spray bottles (which I prefer because they fit in my cabinet and a portable) and I really only need one at a time, obviously. It literally takes about two minutes to mix up a batch, so it’s no hardship to do it a couple times a month.

Forthcoming projects? Some Halloween crafts, “finishing” the dining room, building a loft bed for Little Man and starting on the shiplap walls in the living room… some big ticket items to get situated before the weather turns!

